Daniel Ricciardo Wins Grand Prix Of Montreal

Daniel Ricciardo celebrates his win in Montreal. Photo from the Red Bull Racing Facebook page.
Daniel Ricciardo celebrates his win in Montreal. Photo from the Red Bull Racing Facebook page.

Formula One visited Montreal on Sunday, and it was quite the exciting race with an unlikely winner.

As soon as the green waved to start the race, the yellow flag waved and the safety car came out for an incident between the Marussias of Max Chilton and Jules Bianchi in the first chicane. Chilton experienced massive oversteer and crashed into Bianchi, sending Bianchi hard into the outside wall of the turn.

After the race restarted, it looked very much like races earlier in the season with an intense battle between Mercedes teammates Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg. Rosberg was in the lead for much of the race with Hamilton increasingly closing in on his teammate. Hamilton was eventually able to gain the lead for a little while after a slow pit stop from Rosberg but eventually gave it up on a slow out lap from his own pit stop. Hamilton’s day got even worse when he was forced to retire from the race due to a loss of power and rear brakes. Rosberg also experienced loss of power and rear brakes around the same time as Hamilton but his was not as severe and he was able to finish the race.

With just five laps to go, Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo was able to pass the Force India of Sergio Perez, who was also losing his brakes, for second and made a run on Nico Rosberg. He was eventually able to also pass Rosberg with three laps to go.

Ricciardo’s win was sealed when an accident between Sergio Perez and Felipe Massa occurred on the very last lap brought out the safety car. Massa, who was in fifth at the time, tried to pass Perez but instead collided with him. Vettel was almost swept up in the accident but was able to find his way through it and remain in the race. It was later announced by both teams that Perez and Massa were both okay and able to race again.

Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Vettel, Jenson Button, and  Nico Hulkenburg rounded out the top five.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s